DISCOVER displays photos and descriptions of more than 250 individual historic properties. Local Landmarks (LL), Federal National Register of Historic Places (NR) and potential candidates (D) are designated. Use Search to locate a property by name, street or neighborhood.

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Moon, 2985 D Street NE, (D)

This house, originally at 774 Winter Street, was built c.1896 for Amos Long, a teacher in the North Salem School. Oscar Moon bought the property in 1911 and resided there until 1941. After the 1940s the house was a rental. It was acquired by the State of Oregon in 1963; privately purchased in the 1990s (before the construction of the North Capitol Mall Office Building on that site) and moved to D Street. A photograph of this house and its neighbor, in their former location, the German Methodist Parsonage, is found here.

No comments: