DISCOVER displays photos and descriptions of more than 250 individual historic properties. Local Landmarks (LL), Federal National Register of Historic Places (NR) and potential candidates (D) are designated. Use Search to locate a property by name, street or neighborhood.

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Church of God of Oregon, 1760 State Street, (D)

In 1900 , C. N. Potter and wife deeded this land, a part of the A. F. Waller Donation Land Claim, to the Evangelical Lutheran Christian Church of Salem, Oregon, a corporation, and to D. G. and A. W. Granger. It is assumed the church was built soon after that date. The style is similar to other churches built in the late 1800s in the Salem area. In 1966, the land was acquired by State Street Baptist Church. The transfer to the present congregation was in 1976.

Marion Apartments, 610 Commercial Street NE. (D)

Research is beginning on this 1920 apartment building at the northeast corner of Commercial and Union Streets. The Sanborn map of 1926 shows the footprint as the building today, although the L section at the rear appears to have been constructed at a slightly different, lower elevation. The City Directory shows 16 apartments from the earliest listings.
The apartments show an elegant style that would have been attractive for short stays, such as 1920s state legislators or someone needing temporary quarters, or even the more prosperous commercial travelers: they might have been designed as suites rather than apartments. The rooms have high ceilings, large windows, wooden floors (under carpets), alcoves without doors for closets (some with small windows), small bathrooms and kitchens. Fireplaces are in some units. However, one unit has built-in storage drawers and a roll-out bed behind glass doors.
In 1989, the apartments were sold by Betty Louise Bradshaw, as a personal representative of Elma Childs, to C. Rex and Ruth M. Layton of Marion County. It passed into the ownership of the Boys and Girls Club and then to the present owner.