1953 photograph of Fr. George H. Swift and his wife Alice shows them standing in front of this St. Paul’s Episcopal Church Rectory, possibly built in 1923. It was located adjacent to the new church at 540 Chemeketa St. NE. The church has moved and so has the rectory, now a private residence in the Gaiety Hill/Bush's Pasture Park Historic Residential District. None of the exterior features seem to have changed and the bright blue paint gives the bungalow a cheerful, contemporary appearance without forgetting its important place in our community’s past.
DISCOVER displays photos and descriptions of more than 250 individual historic properties. Local Landmarks (LL), Federal National Register of Historic Places (NR) and potential candidates (D) are designated. Use Search to locate a property by name, street or neighborhood.