DISCOVER displays photos and descriptions of more than 250 individual historic properties. Local Landmarks (LL), Federal National Register of Historic Places (NR) and potential candidates (D) are designated. Use Search to locate a property by name, streetor neighborhood.
This handsome house in the NEN neighborhood was built in 1916, on the corner of 24th and Walker Streets, next door to the Walker House. Its imposing appearance and prominent location, led us to believe it was the home of the second generation of the Walker family. However, the earliest record of ownership found so far indicates Carl Armpriest and his wife Constance purchased the property in 1919 from Portland Mortgage Co. for $10 "and other good and valuable considerations". The Armpriest family lived there until at least 1941. More information is welcome.
This 1975 photograph is reproduced by courtesy Salem Public Library Koval Collection
In December of 1901, E.M. Croisan and his wife Ella deeded to Sarah Walker for twelve hundred dollars land beginning at the east end of the A. F. Waller Donation Land Claim and extending to the southeast corner of the Croisan property. It is possible this home was built even before that date: a 1934 obituary states that W.W. Walker, Sarah's husband, lived here "in the same house for 44 years" . Sarah died in 1940 at the age of 89. This NEN neighborhood property may have passed out of the family at that time. Further information is invited.