DISCOVER displays photos and descriptions of more than 250 individual historic properties. Local Landmarks (LL), Federal National Register of Historic Places (NR) and potential candidates (D) are designated. Use Search to locate a property by name, street or neighborhood.
Sunday, March 1, 2009
Cooley, 1320 Chemeketa Street NE, (LL)
The property at 888 Summer Street, where this house was originally located, was acquired by Ralph and Lola Cooley in 1922 in two separate deeds from F.A. Legg for $10.00 and from the City of Salem for $1,950. Ralph Cooley was employed by the Bishop's Clothing Store in Salem for over 50 years; in 1960 when he served as manager of the store, he was honored for half a century of employment. The Cooleys sold the house to the State of Oregon in 1967 as the North Capitol Mall expanded. The house was moved to this new location and is well preserved as offices by the new owners.