DISCOVER displays photos and descriptions of more than 250 individual historic properties. Local Landmarks (LL), Federal National Register of Historic Places (NR) and potential candidates (D) are designated. Use Search to locate a property by name, street or neighborhood.

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Colbath, 334 Wyatt Court, NE, (LL)

Elijah Colbath came to Salem in 1858 and built this house in 1877. After 1871 he worked as a contractor, builder, and millwright. He also was a member of the Capital City Volunteer Fire Company. Gabriella Colbath, his wife, was the owner of the house as protection since women had separate property rights that were not subject to the collection of the husband's debts. In 1925 the second owner, Homer Wyatt, subdivided the property and moved the house about 100 feet to its present location. Later owners had careers with the State of Oregon. See entrance 1965.

No comments: