DISCOVER displays photos and descriptions of more than 250 individual historic properties. Local Landmarks (LL), Federal National Register of Historic Places (NR) and potential candidates (D) are designated. Use Search to locate a property by name, street or neighborhood.

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Strickfaddon, 2110 Market Street NE, (LL)

This house was built in 1936 for Charles H. and Aubra (Polly) Strickfadden. Mr. Strickfadden was manager and later president of the Capital Lumber Company, a pioneer in the production of presto logs. The Mill was located on North Cherry Avenue; after it burned, it was not rebuilt, however the old log pond is visible at Cherry Avenue across from the industrial park. Mrs. Strickfadden was an interior decorator and designed the house. After she was widowed, Mrs. Strickfadden continued to live in the house until her death in 1975.

No comments: