DISCOVER displays photos and descriptions of more than 250 individual historic properties. Local Landmarks (LL), Federal National Register of Historic Places (NR) and potential candidates (D) are designated. Use Search to locate a property by name, street or neighborhood.

Saturday, February 28, 2009

Truitt Brothers Cannery, Front Street NE, (D)

First owned by William Waldo, this property was developed for industry as early as 1914, a date inscribed near the roofline of handsome brick building near the river. It has been a food processing plant location under the names Salem King Products, Reid Murdock, Consolidated Foods, United States Corporation, Ltd. and now Truitt Brothers, Inc. It is one of two remaining canneries in Salem, once a national center of agriculture and food processing. See 1973 photograph.

No comments: